In honor of my dear, childhood friend.

Pastor Raines's Blog

Saturday February 28th, is a day I have been dreading all year long. This grief journey after the loss of my only child to suicide is best described by Jerry Garcia when he wrote, what a long strange trip it’s been.  I’ve learned a lot of things about myself, and about life in general during this process. One of the most important and useful things I have learned is, everything is temporary. This life, this circumstance, this attitude, these feelings, these things, this outlook on life, and primarily this understanding of who I am, as all things change through growth or loss.  When speaking with a friend of mine about one of the people he was ministering to, the statement came to mind, “as long as they are still breathing, there is still a chance for them to change their circumstances. “

I once lived my life, sure about…

View original post 250 more words

